Get Involved

201501 126“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” – Margaret Mead

There are many ways for you to help strengthen the intergenerational (IG) movement!

Launch a BT Program

_homepage-margaret-girls-webDid you know that Bridges Together (BT) has not spent a single dollar on advertising? All of our growth has come from word of mouth and from educational presentations.

Many people are helping to bring a BT program to their own community, or one of their grandchild’s. If you are interested, thank you. Rest assured, we will walk this journey with you and help you every step of the way!

Get started by contacting our Intergenerational Facilitator Julie Shaw at Julie@BridgesTogether.org or 978.793.9509

Network

Weaver (2nd from right) with Ms. Jackie Jenkins Scott, President of Wheelock College (2nd from left) and members of the Award Committee.Are you leading an IG program, as a volunteer or paid staff member? Do you want to meet with others who are doing similar work? Do you want to learn more about central IG topics or perhaps how to get started?

Join our growing Mosaic Network.  We meet regularly for Lunch, Learn & Network sessions, sponsored by the Massachusetts Council on Aging (MCOA).  Starting this fall, we will have a newsletter dedicated specifically to IG Leaders.

To get involved, contact us at Mosaic@BridgesTogether.org

Volunteer

Chelmsford adults and childrenWould you like to volunteer with Bridges Together? We help community leaders to connect with local older adults who want to participate in intergenerational programs. We also rely on dedicated volunteers who help us at the administrative level so that we can grow more efficiently, touching more lives.

Below are Massachusetts communities (as well as communities in Berkeley, CA and Mt. Pleasant, MI) that are running programs. Contact information is included; please contact the administrators directly for more information.

If you would like to start a Bridges Together program in your own town or help as an administrator, email Info@BridgesTogether.org or call 978-793-9650.

Town/OrganizationContact nameContact email
AmesburyKatrina Riouxriouxk@amesburyma.gov
ArlingtonMarci Shapiro-Idemshapiro-ide@town.arlington.ma.us
Berkeley, CARichard Castrillonrcastrillon@cityofberkeley.info
BurlingtonKatie Bercury, Elementary Social Studies Coach bridgesvolunteercoordinator@gmail.com
Central Michigan University-Institute for Intergenerational Relations (Mt. Pleasant)Leeny MaloneBeachmalon1ee@cmich.edu
DaltonMary Lamkemblamke@yahoo.com
FitchburgLisa Moisonlmoison@fitchburgstate.edu
HopkintonAmy Beck, Volunteer Coordinatorabeck@hopkintonma.gov
LeominsterVirginia Carpenterlbrooks@leominster-ma.gov
LeePat Digriaolicoa@town.lee.ma.us
MaynardKerry Healy Weeks or Amy Lovelesshealyweeks@gmail.com or aloveless@townofmaynard.net
Newton (Lasell College)Joann Monteparejmontepare@lasell.edu
NorthboroughJulieJulie@BridgesTogether.org
Oak BluffsRose Coglianorosecogliano@gmail.com
RevereDonna Tarutzdonnatarutz@harvard.harvard.edu
ShrewsburyStacey Lavelyvolunteerjobs@gmail.com
StowSharon Funkhouser, Outreach/Volunteer Coordinatorcoa2@stow-ma.gov
Sudbury (Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School)Debbie HowellDebbie@BridgesTogether.org
TownsendKarin Canfield Moorekmoore@townsend.ma.us
West SpringfieldBarbara Morinbarbarian24@yahoo.com
WestwoodLina Arena-Derosalarenaderosa@townhall.westwood.ma.us
WinchendonSharon Perkins
YarmouthHilda Davenporthdavenport@yarmouth.ma.us

 

Donate to Bridges Together Inc.

bt_before_after

A student’s picture of an “old person before and then after participating in the Bridges program. From “slow,” “weak,” and “lazy”…to “kind, curious…funny, and my friend!”

Please note: We have updated our system; it is now possible to make a donation online without having a PayPal account.

  At Bridges Together Inc., we are all about intergenerational programming: why we need these programs and how to build effective ones. Building intergenerational bridges is imperative for creating a healthy and productive society for all. To that end, Bridges Together empowers teachers, community organizers and participants of all ages to create intergenerational opportunities and programs in their own worlds.

Please make a tax-deductible donation today so that we may continue to educate, empower, and connect generations. 

  • $25 – Provide materials for a day-long training
  • $50 – Assemble a Bridges kit for a classroom
  • $100 – Support Bridges Together’s eNews
  • $250 – Support research to demonstrate Bridges’ impact
  • $500 – Sponsor a programming resource page
  • $1,000 – Purchase equipment for online trainings
  • $2,500 – Sponsor a one-day workshop
  • $5,000 – Sponsor a Bridges program in one community

Giving Circles:

  • Ponte Vecchio: $5,000
  • Zakim: $2,500
  • Old North: $1,000
  • Golden Gate: $500
  • Brooklyn: $250
  • Tower: $100
  • Ambassador: $50
  • Sunshine Skyway: $25

Click the “Donate” button above to give online or send your checks to:  Bridges Together, The Gatehouse at the Wayside Inn, 47 Wayside Inn Road, 1st Floor West, Sudbury, MA 01776. If you have a donor advised fund (DAF), you can also use the tool on the top right.

Here’samazon smile a way to donate to Bridges Together without giving a penny directly: Shop through Amazon Smile! When Bridges Together is your preferred recipient, Amazon.com will donate 0.5% of your shopping expenditures to our nonprofit organization. Through Amazon.com, you save… and we earn! Click here to start shopping.

Thank you for helping to build more intergenerational bridges!

Upcoming events


Volunteer


Featured Partner